Skip to main content

Honorary doctors over the years

Through the award of honorary doctorates, the Faculty of Engineering (LTH) seeks to strengthen the perception of LTH as a modern and professional higher education institution that provides benefit to the world. Being named an honorary doctor at LTH is evidence of great appreciation. The award is given to those who have contributed to development, renewal or visibility within the areas linked to the faculty’s operations.

More information about Honorary Doctors (LTH's website)

Dana Cuff - 2022 

Dana Cuff is a researcher and professor of Architecture and Urban Design at the University of California, Los Angeles, where she also founded and leads an architecture and urbanism think tank focused on the 21st century global city and how it can evolve towards more sustainable and equitable living environments. Dana Cuff has held the Lise Meitner Professorship at LTH, been an advisor to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, a visiting professor at Chalmers University and has received both research and teaching awards.

The LTH jury writes: “An honorary doctorate for Cuff strengthens our position within sustainable urban planning and ties LTH to one of the world’s leading researchers in urban architecture and design with extensive experience of inter-departmental assignments and measures, as well as academic development and collaborative work.”

More information about Dana Cuff and her work can be found on Citylab’s website.


Honorary doctor Peter Cook. Photo.

Peter Cook - 2010 

Sir Peter Cook is a world-famous architect, 73, trained at the Bartlett School of Architecture in London and elsewhere. From 2005 to 2009, he was visiting professor at the School of Architecture at LTH. According to the director of the school, Christer Malmström, this meant a great increase in the quality of results both as a result of Peter Cook’s teaching and owing to the fact that other teaching staff from his large international network have applied to work at LTH.


Foto hedersdoktor Lars Lerup

Lars Lerup - 2002 

Professor at Rice University in Houston, Texas. Architecture and Urban Planning.

Santiago Calatrava - 1999

Doctor, Zürich. Engineering, Art and Architecture.

Nguyen Manh Kiem - 1997

Doctor and Vice-minister, Vietnam. Architecture and Construction.

Nils-Ole Lund - 1995

Professor, Aarhus. Architecture and architectural history. 

Giancarlo de Carlo - 1988

Professor, Genoa. Development of modern architecture; founding Ilaud (organisation for schools of architecture)

Jørn Utzon - 1975 

Architect, Denmark. Innovation and artistic development in the field of architecture.

Ralf Erskine - 1975 

Architect, Stockholm. Various architectural projects.

Klas Anshelm - 1973 

Architect, National Association of Swedish Architects, Lund. Architect of the buildings that house the Faculty of Engineering, architect with a distinct and unique talent for form.

Gregor Paulsson - 1973 

Professor of Art History, Uppsala University. The new architecture, Commissioner General for the Stockholm Exhibition of 1930.

Page Manager: | 2023-06-02